Cannabis Trade Federation Adopts DEI Policy

Image: mrmohock /

DENVER – In the first move of its kind, the Cannabis Trade Federation (CTF) adopted two expansive proposals governing diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) policies. The new programs—a policy platform and a member assessment tool—were developed by CTF’s DEI Task Force. The twenty-seven-member task force, launched in May 2019, comprises a diverse group of leaders possessing industry, political, policy, and operational experience. Members include NAACP President and Chief Executive Officer Derrick Johnson; National Urban League CEO Marc Morial; former U.S. Congressman Carlos Curbelo; Former Director of the Washington, D.C., ACLU office Laura Murphy; NAACP Vice-Chair Karen Boykin-Towns; and NBA Hall of Famer and One World Pharma Vice-Chair and CEO Isiah Thomas.

The Policy Platform offers CTF members an expansive list of recommendations for economic development and workforce issues, ownership, government policy, community partnerships, and criminal justice reform. The member assessment tool will serve as a benchmarking mechanism to measure progress on DEI practices for CTF members and an accountability and transparency tool. Both programs will be a requirement for membership in CTF.


CTF is a 501(c)(4) nonprofit organization dedicated to educating and advocating for sensible cannabis public policy.